Family Legacy

12 03 2012

I’d like to share a little about myself and where I come from, so that you can understand why I have decided to work on this site of mine.

I was born in ’78 and to my benefit, was given to my grand”parents” to raise me.  My grand”parents” which I will just call my parents from now on, raised me from about 6 months to the time I got married to my beautiful wife.  My parents raised me with a solid foundation of work ethic, manners, religion, and just overall happiness.  I have worked for our family business since I can remember.  Back when I was a toddler I helped by causing havoc and creating a mess of our product stock room.  But that was me “helping” and my parents loved it.  As I grew older, I took on other tasks in the office.  I took over the shipping of product, and slowly worked my way up to taking orders and running the front office.  Now, I am running the show and working on building a more solid base for the business to continue for many more years in our family.  My dad passed away in September and even though it was expected, it still was extremely hard on me.  My mom is still around, but her health is on a steady downward spiral.  There is something about being given the reigns to a company that your parents built, that gives you a lot of pride in what you are doing.  In a way I don’t want to let them down, but in the same breath I want to honor them by making the business even better and growing it beyond what they had accomplished.

As of last year, we were the #4 Top Earners in Shaklee, and my goal is to reach #1 eventually.  That is a big task, but something that I am striving to achieve.  The benefits of this business are amazing, and I’m not just talking about wealth.  I’m talking about time with your family.  My fondest memories growing up were of my dad attending each and every soccer, baseball, & basketball game that I had.  I can’t say that all of my friends had that same kind of attendance from their parents.  It was amazing to know that he was always going to be there for me, and now that tradition lives on with my kids.  I am my boys soccer coach, and attend every basketball game and practice that he has.  My daughter does dance and I have been to her recitals and taken her to practice.  Also, I take days to be the “daddy helper” at school for both of them.  These are benefits of having a business like Shaklee.  You can work, and you can play.  The time I spend with my kids means a lot to me, and I’m sure it means a lot to them.  But not only that, the days of them being little is a fleeting moment in time and before I know it they will be off to college or getting married.

Image

Here’s to you “Pomp” and Grandma!  I love and appreciate all you have done for me in my life!  You are great examples of how to be the best parents you can be.  I look forward to passing the legacy you created onto my kids and someday onto their kids.  The business will be a benefit for many generations in our family, and you are to thank for your effort and hard work!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

