Lifestyle + Earth = ???

26 04 2012

The other day I posted that I was back in the saddle again, and then began writing this post.  But my internet went down and so did my post.  But here we go again!

While planning my Earth Day event, I came across some statistics that frankly blew my mind!  Before we get to those let me share a few of my thoughts about our lifestyles in this day and age.  We can take me for example and talk about what I like.  I love cars, and have had my fair share of them in the 18 years I’ve been able to drive.  The longest I have ever been able to manage to hold on to a car is 3 years.  The least is a year, but I go through them rather quickly.  They end up getting sold to somebody else, and I keep them in great condition but I change cars a lot!  That kind of attitude also shifts over into other aspects of our lives.  Take computers for example.  The technology changes quickly, and the computer you bought last year isn’t the top of the line anymore.  Can it do what you need it to do?  Most likely yes, but something in our way of thinking makes us want the new “cooler” more awesome machine.  Take the iPhone or iPad for example.  You might have one, but when the next one comes out are you going to want that one?  I know I will!  LOL!

But this brings me to my point.  We go through things quickly, and what happens to them after we are done with them?  Do we recycle them?  Do we sell them?  I would like everyone to think about a few things today as you go through your day.  Every time you throw something in the trash today, think about whether it needs to go in the garbage or if it should go in the recycle bin.  If we become a little more aware of what we are doing throughout the day, we might be able to make a change for good in the world.  Why would that matter?  Well here are the stats I mentioned earlier.

  • To produce each week’s Sunday newspapers, 500,000 trees must be cut down.
  • Recycling a single run of the Sunday New York Times would save 75,000 trees.
  • The amount of wood and paper we throw away each year is enough to heat 50,000,000 homes for 20 years.
  • Americans use 2,500,000 plastic bottles every hour! Most of them are thrown away!
  • Recycling plastic saves twice as much energy as burning it in an incinerator.
  • About one-third of an average dump is made up of packaging material!
  • Rainforests are being cut down at the rate of 100 acres per minute!
  • On average, each one of us produces 4.4 pounds of solid waste each day. This adds up to almost a ton of trash per person, per year.

These are just a few of the stats that I found while looking into my Earth Day Celebration.  So my point it this: Recycle what can be recycled, and try to minimize 4.4 pounds of waste each day!  The reason I feel so passionate about this, is because I have 3 kids.  I don’t want them to have to clean up our mess, or live like the humans do on Wall-E.  If you remember in the movie, the humans were flying around in a spaceship because earth was no longer able to sustain life.  Why?  Because of all of the garbage!  Let’s try and clean up our act, and make sure we are recycling what we can and if you want to go another step further, compost what you can too.  My 2 cents for the day!  Please comment and let me know what you think.

Let’s keep our mountains looking like this….

Image

And not this….

Image


Actions

Information

One response

26 04 2012
kzackuslheureux

Interesting stats. eh?

Leave a Reply

