Price of Wealth

7 05 2012

I am constantly amazed at the response created by money.  If I were to stand in the street and throw $100 bills into the air, what kind of response would I get?  People clambering to get themselves one or more of those precious bills.  There might be some fighting or at least anger created over them too.  It would be like releasing a pack of lions into a butcher shop.

Is that what kind of people we are at our core?  Are we just tame wild animal’s?  Tame from day to day, but when something like money is involved we allow ourselves to become wild and uncontrollable?  The reason I bring this up, is because I’ve heard stories and seen families literally torn apart because of “earthly” possessions.  Is it really worth it?  Should we let relationships with family, friends, or anyone we care about deteriorate because of something like money or possessions?

I would write my typical “No” response above, because I feel it’s a no brainer…….but I don’t think everyone would agree with that statement.  The phrase that comes to mind at this point is, “it’s not how you act, but how you react!”  I think you can tell more about a person by the way they react then you can by how they act.  People are very good at portraying the person they want everyone to think they are.  But when something happens and you react out of instinct, that is a more true portrayal of the type of person you are.  At least in my opinion.

If you throw the almighty dollar into the mix, it is likely to bring to the surface everyone’s core personality.  The old saying “money is the root of all evil.” doesn’t paint the whole picture.  Money can be used to benefit and enrich lives, the pursuit of money at all cost is in itself evil.  The love or lust of money over family, friends, or others is also evil.  Do I love money?  Why yes I do.  Would I put money over my family, or even friends?  No way!

My point today is this.  Don’t allow yourselves to have money make the person you are!  Money can be used to benefit your life, but don’t let it control you.  If you see that money is causing contention in your personal life, try to look at the other aspects of your life and you will see it’s not worth the drama.

Let money bless your life and the lives of those around you, but don’t let it take over your life.  When you look back on your life when you know you are coming to the end……don’t let your story be all about the benjamins!

Image


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

