Wealth is Relative

7 01 2013

I’ve been thinking a lot about what “wealth” really is.  This whole fiscal cliff circus has really made me think about it seriously.  When somebody says that a person making x amount of dollars a year is “wealthy” how did they come to that conclusion?  Is it because the “wealthy” person makes more money?  And when that “wealthy” person looks at their life, do they consider themselves wealthy?  I have to say the saying “more money, more problems” is not too far off.  I mean having no money is a problem too, but typically when you make more money you adjust your lifestyle to use all that money.  So a person making more money doesn’t necessarily have more “extra” money at the end of the day.  They might have a nicer car, house, etc. but that will eat away the additional money they make.

 

Just thoughts rambling out of my head.  So when somebody says that a person making 250,000 a year is “wealthy” I have a problem with that.  Yes, that is a lot of money!  But are they really truly rich?  Or are they now living to that income, and just squeaking bye?  Anyways, my biggest concern when it comes to financial problems or situations is this.  I think we are doing our youth a disservice by not having finance classes as mandatory classes throughout High School, and maybe even starting in Junior High.  I’m not talking about just classes on saving, but on credit cards and how the APR’s work.  Investing, Loans, etc.  When I got my first credit card I had no idea how it worked.  And I got in over my head.  I think our kids deserve better.

 

Anyways, now that I have been all over the board, I will leave you with my phrase that “wealth is relative!”

 

Thoughts and opinions are more then welcome!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

